worried about future RDH employment

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

RDH2008 in California

21 months ago

I graduated in 2008 with my BS in dental hygiene. I love the field. But most of my employment has been through temp agencies. I am also a military spouse, which has meant 3 major moves since I graduated hygiene school. I have held a DH license in 3 states. Because employers often question why we move so much and they want someone for "the long haul" I have only found employment through temp agencies. Then it got worse when we got military orders to California earlier this year. This is the worst state ever to obtain a license. $3800 for an anesthesia course alone!? in addition to having to take their clinical boards since I haven't been practicing for 5 years yet. So my husband and I decided it was not worth all that effort and money and time, since are only be stationed here for 2 years, and a license is NO way a guarantee of a job these days (especially living in a small town here).
Anyways after CA there is a good chance we will go back home (DC, Baltimore area) and hopefully be able to stay there. But my gosh, how will I explain this to an employer in a job interview? I just want a career for myself, that's why I worked so hard through hygiene school. I have tried to volunteer out here, but without a license to practice, my options for that are even limited, especially living almost 100 miles from a decent size city. But 3 years of temp agencies, then 2 years of not practicing at all (circumstances beyond my control, but still). Any advice. Please, I need only positive advice. I worry about this a lot. Don't tell me that "you're screwed", I know people can be harsh on the internet.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

exp in Massachusetts

20 months ago