Electrical work in the USA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (36)

Doug Pettifer in Hamilton, New Zealand

87 months ago

I am a Electrician / electrical contractor from New Zealand and my wife a I are looking to work in the USA . I am trying to find out if its possible for a New Zealand electrician to work in the USA and if so how I could get in touch with likely employers. Any help would be greatly appreciated

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (150) / No (34) Reply - Report abuse

Jon in Denver, Colorado

81 months ago

Hello Doug, Do you have Industrial or Commercial experience or mostly Residential? There is plenty of work in Colorado, Wyoming, Arizona, California, Where do you want to live? Most of the jobs can be found by doing what your doing now,(Internet)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (32) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Peter McGlone in Glasgow, United Kingdom

78 months ago

Im looking to relocate to the US Michigan area what is the work prospects and opportunities

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (13) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Dan Stoffel in Denver, Colorado

77 months ago

Each state has their own tests. You should go to that state's Electrical Board web site, search goggle for "State Electrical Boards". Print off the documentation you need to document your experience. We do have different voltage systems here but don't think that would be to difficult to pick up. We use the NEC (National Electric Code) standards here in the states you should be able to buy that book on-line. I heard it was going to be accepted as the "International Electric Code" but not sure it ever did.

www.code-electrical.com/buildingdepartments.html

www.dllr.state.md.us/license/occprof/elec.html

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

erik lazo in Rockville, Maryland

74 months ago

go to internet to

IBEW 26

interantional brotherhood electrical workers the number is the estate