Electronics Technician with component level troubleshooting experience in R&D and manufacturing looking for work in Houston

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Real Tech in Willis, Texas

62 months ago

I am an Electronics Technician with 13 years experience in LWD/MWD. I worked in R&D for 6yrs assisting engineers in the development of digital and analog circuitry. I participated on a fast track project team in 2005 and I received a bonus greater that my years salary for the completion of a Density/Neutron Tool in a timely manner. I also worked in a fast paced production environment troubleshooting the more difficult problems.
I worked in A NASA environment for more than 10 yrs maintaining and repairing Space shuttle Launch Processing Systems. I have a strong personal interest in Electronics and over the years I have built many types of electronic devices with some of them being my own design.
The company I was working for was recently acquired by Smith and with the downturn in the industry I was laid off on the 3rd round. They kept some of the technicians who were recently hired in the last year who had very little experience and were not able to do much without assistance. I suspect they are trying to lower the average wages.
I am not having much luck finding any job in Electronics at any pay these days in Houston. Even the temporary staffing agencies have nothing. I have never had any problems finding an Electronics job before in my life. Any info or comments from others present experiences would be appreciated.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No Reply - Report abuse

Good Tech in Colorado Springs, Colorado

60 months ago

Your comment is over a month ago, but I will still give it a shot. I loved your style and comments. You are not alone my friend. I have been an Electronic Tech for over 20 years. I too have never had trouble finding a job.