Looking for Employment in the Electronic and Computer Field

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (46)

Matthew

88 months ago

Thank youi for your information. I will start looking in florida for a small company and may decide to venture out to Texas.

thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

larry in Wichita, Kansas

64 months ago

I am starting my schooling at ITT TECH. What would be a good way for me to get experience while I am going to school. I'm studying computer electronic engineer technology.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (17) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

techgrad in Davison, Michigan

56 months ago

What is the most effective method of tracking down small electronic companies, and building up skills in lieu of employment? Every electronic job post either ask for an Associates(which I have) with two years or more experience(can't even get my foot in the door). More commonly, Bachelors with 3-5 experience and most know a bunch of esoteric design programs just to qualify! Any advice?, I'd kill to make $10/hour alone!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

e148 in Austin, Texas

56 months ago

Part 2,

I do not know how a company can define entry-level as 1-3 years of experience. How does one get the 1 year when that or more is what is needed to get the job? It is a contradiction. Again it is DRE not just any electronics experience. Most other areas of life consider zero years of experience as entry-level. An entry-level home buyer is a first time home buyer, for example, no experience buying a home.

I have been told that skills transfer but I can tell you that they do not (Unix-Linux experience).

I went to college beyond by electronics schooling. My academic adviser said that college was just to see how trainable you are and that the company you go to work for will train you on what they want you to do.

This has not been true for me.