Starting out...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Host

How did you get your start doing engineer work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

Shedrick Cole in Lancaster, Texas

73 months ago

Excellent question! I am a new college graduate who is seeking a position as an entry level electrical engineer. I would like any guidance/advise for beginning my career.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

sphutch001 in Arlington, Virginia

69 months ago

There are so many choices these days. It depends on your interests. Not all EE's are interested in the same thing. I was always interested in Power Generation. I started as a Construction Engineer, building Power Plants, moved to startup then into Design. Now I work for a large electrical utility doing what I always thought I would do as an Engineer. If for interests are in smaller projects, I would look at one of the OEMs. If software, there are always positions available in all type of companies. Just think about what you really liked about your EE Courses. Most likely, you will wind up in a management position in about 3-5 years, so have fun at it while your starting out.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Marty Costello in Garden City, Michigan

68 months ago