Getting an Escrow Assistant job.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Host

How did you get your start doing Escrow Assistant work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

Terry Waits in Plano, Texas

81 months ago

I am very interested in this type of position. I have been in new home sales for the last 8 years and looking for a change.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

DE in Las Vegas, Nevada

78 months ago

Host said: How did you get your start doing Escrow Assistant work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

I started working for a friend that owns a Mortgage Company in 1997 and worked as a Loan processor then eventually moved up as a Loan Officer. I have a very curious mind so as a Loan Officer I obviously work very closely with Escrow/Title Companies. I got curious on how an escrow company function so I applied as a receptionist. Within a month I was given the opportunity for hands on experience opening files, then processing, then HUD-1 preparation, then title policy and then conducting settlements. In 2.5 years I was promoted as a Director of Operations. I opened a couple of escrow offices for my previous CEO in the state of Virgnia. I suggest if you are a career minded individual and would like to start a career in a new industry (any type). Start from the bottom (regardless of the starting pay rate….Look at it as a good investment) and work your way up. You have a better chance to provide an outstanding result as a Manager if you know how companies fully function. The best way to know how a department works is to have the hands on experience. Even from the smallest department (i.e. reception area) you can learn about the company. In fact the front desk is where you can find a lot of activities.