european estheticians vs. american estheticians

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (47)

tiffany in Livonia, Michigan

88 months ago

i have been practicing esthetics for the past three years and i have just recently run into a situation where the salon i booth rent space in was purchased by a european trained esthetician. she has made several comments about how superior her education is to mine and it i have taken this personally (i know i shouldn't but i did). not to mention she is not willing to share this vast wealth of information she has.

i met the hour requirement for my state, passed my baords the first time, and carried a 95% gpa throughout my esthetic program in cosmetology school. what more am i to do? i have trained with aveda, repechage, biocella, and now i am learning academie. i go and have facials in different "european" spas and from what i noticed their technique is not different than mine. they have more expensive equipment, but that is about it. so what is all of the fuss? can someone please help me out, will i have to go to europe get some training and pickup an accent to be considered an esthetician among fellow estheticians?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (19) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

karen in Farmington, Michigan

88 months ago

well it sounds like she is just being rude, the nerve of her to insult your education. if i were you i would keep doing what you have been doing. keep your head up.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

christel in Warrenville, Illinois

87 months ago

tell her you did not ask her opinion so therefore she should keep her opinions to herself!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Liz in Marina Del Rey, California

86 months ago

Then why is she "slumming" in Michigan instead of working her magic back in Europe?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Laura

86 months ago