What are the best exercise physiologist qualifications and training to get ahead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (41)

Host

What is the best training for becoming an exercise physiologist? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective exercise physiologist?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

Reply - Report abuse

What in Tallmadge, Ohio

69 months ago

Everyone I know in 2008 that I graduated with in Exercise Phys with a M.S has moved on to Nursing or something else to do a lack of jobs in the field. Making 20,000-40,000 with a M.S is stupid and not worth the time and loans.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (21) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

What in Akron, Ohio

63 months ago

If you get a GA position and get paid to go for free might as well take it since there is no jobs in this field (I posted here recently and am the same person). I am certified by ACSM-CPT and work within the field. It's stable but not the best pay. ACSMs magazine and Faculty posted they are fighting for the Clinical Exercise Physiologist, but it won't be a while for that. They are phonies doing research on common sense and trying to promote people being certified as well as join a extremely over flooded field. Honestly the Faculty of ACSM are a bunch of liars and crooks trying to promote the field. Even some of their faculty teach at nursing schools.

If you cardiac rehab but you should get it being a RN/BSN and get paid a lot more to do it. At our place the Exercise Phys was the first to be laid off during the recession. The Nurses still did cardiac rehab. I'm getting out of this field, its a plateau in my career and I feel like I am a underachiever. People with no degrees make more than me.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Huh in Kennewick, Washington

62 months ago