Thinking of taking position on and not sure of what to expect...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

dragonwalker in Woodland Hills, California

17 months ago

Ok,

So I graduated about 2 years ago from a good college but I now work at a large national bank as a personal banker; handling mostly new accounts, personal, business, application for HELOCs, unsecured loans/lines, credit, refer mortgage, etc. It's mostly a sales position and I've been looking to expand my horizons.

I posted a resume online and a few insurance companies like New York Life and Mass Mutual and some smaller companies contacted me about becoming an agent. I had done some research on these positions before and they are basically all commissioned based, no benefits, and a lot of independent work.

I'm not ready to make that kind of commitment full time as I feel that I don't really have an established network of people I know since moving away for college and needing some stability of a job that has a base salary plus commissions. My pay at work is modest, base about mid 30s and including bonuses and commissions it's about 50K.

I've been approached by representatives of a company called TransAmerica that are owned by a larger parent company AEGON. They explained that I could work part time as a referring agent. Essentially, I would send them referrals from my clients that I can't help. People who are interested in investments with less than 100K, mortgages that we can't refinance, debt consolidation that we can't handle, insurance or some securities needs. I would essentially refer to someone who will share opportunities with them and get split commissions if anything results.