Cold Calls

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 61)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

wassimabailey@aol.com in River Edge, New Jersey

71 months ago

JrZeeGrl in Newark, New Jersey said: I have 10+ years experience in transportation and have now gone to brokering. I am working as an agent and have secured 1 single, lonely customer so far. While I am grateful for any work I get, unfortunately this customer just does not have enough work (maybe 1 load per month)to sustain me. I understand that you can make very little or lots of money in this industry, its all up to the agent and how many customers you can obtain. I am by no means looking for a get rich quick scheme. I would just like to obtain a reasonable amount of work (maybe 3-4 customers - even 5 loads per week would be great) and I know it all boils down to me and how dedicated I am in finding shippers. I have many leads, I know how to find shippers via the internet and other sources, and I am very personable. However, my problem is I am not a sales agent. I do not know how to initally sell my service, per say, once I actually get them on the phone. Once I establish a relationship with that customer, its smoothe sailing from there. (I say this because of my dispatching/transportation experience and what I have been told from others). No problems after the initial call. Its the initial phone calls and how to get these shippers to bite that is giving me a headache. 40-50 calls a day and nothing. Can anyone provide any advice?

E-mail me I will let you in on somethings that you might not know at this time.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (36) / No (21) Reply - Report abuse

Alan in Encino, California

61 months ago

Did you make progress? I started recently and faced with the same issues. Did you hear from Wassima? If you can send some info my way that would be wonderful. Alan