B.S. Geology, need job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (151 to 197 of 197)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4   

jadedetroyer in Mount Pleasant, Michigan

31 months ago

I am currently studying to become a Geology major, but seeing all this makes me want to honk otherwise. Any suggestions from anyone to hopefully find a decent job in the next few years?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Oz_Geo in Merewether, Australia

31 months ago

Casey in Fountain, Colorado said: I have had two jobs in mining/exploration since graduating in 2009. I still have very little professional experience and I'm looking for another job. My sights are set on Australia. Keep your heads up. You'll find something!

It's quite unfortunate the amount of geologists that are being churned out worldwide each year. The money was great here in Australia but now the market is flooded with overseas geo's and I've recently been made redundant due to the downturn. I CAN'T GET A JOB IN MY OWN COUNTRY. OS geos have been working for less and have driven wages way down; Australia is one of the most expensive places on Earth to live so you can't own a house on what these foreign geo's have driven the wages down to. I've got >5yrs mining experience but I know people with 10 that can't get a job. Institutions need to raise the entry requirements so everyone can work that completes a degree.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (20) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

akr88 in Texas

29 months ago

Jade Detroyer in Mount Pleasant, Michigan said: I am currently studying to become a Geology major, but seeing all this makes me want to honk otherwise. Any suggestions from anyone to hopefully find a decent job in the next few years?

You're going to have to get an MS. If you want to work in the O&G industry you will have a very difficult time finding work with just a BS.

If you want to be a professional geologist or involved in academia you will need a PhD.