Top gis technician skills needed to get the job.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (22)

Host

What are the top 3 traits or skills every gis technician must have to excel?

Can you suggest any tips or insights to develop your gis technician expertise?

Reply - Report abuse

Nathan in Bismarck, North Dakota

71 months ago

john Mckee in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania said: No there are not any. Most places need nothing more than a GED and the ability to operate a mouse. They also pay about as much as wal mart employees.Then lay you off. GIS is not a valid job or trade.Its a bunch of nonsense so you waste money going to school for it. Believe me a have a bs geography from penn state. Please don't waste your time

Man you Suck and have a bad attitude, I'm in first semester already have 45K offers. that's just in my state, ND You can work for NASA with your degree you just need to change your attitude

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

C in Vancouver, British Columbia

55 months ago

Depends on a bunch of different factors (in order):
1 - How well you communicate. The heard of the GIS world is communication, making a map that communicates as needed, communicating with your co-workers on what's possible, how they want to communicate what the cartographic prduct is saying, etc.
2 - How diverse you are. Do you know a bit about GPS, or web development, or geomatics, or research?
3 - How willing you are to push the boundaries, learn about what you're co-workers are doing, and find and solve problems.
4 - Technical ability.