MA in Counseling—advice on grad. programs & jobs?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

moscatomg1 in Las Cruces, New Mexico

24 months ago

[Part. 1] Given all the folks here on the job market search, I thought this would be a good place to voice these concerns. And though neither the Guidance Counselor or School Psychologist forum fits perfectly with this, they still may be appropriate to post in—esp. since most MA Counseling degrees are offered by education depts. at universities. . . .

My background: Since it’s relevant, my background is that I have no background in counseling or psych. I have a BA in English and MA in communication. I am an adjunct faculty and want to go back into academia (grad. school) in order to leave academia. I do want to listen to and try to help troubled individuals like my own students—but I also want to help myself get out of the black hole of the humanities in academia. I *think* I am most interested in adult mental health counseling at a state/govt. agency (substance abuse or anxiety/depression) or, preferably, student mental health counseling at a college/univ. setting. Given what I see just in these forums, I don’t know how realistic either of these is in the current job market. (However, online US. govt. resources indicate large future growth in substance abuse counseling.)