How competitive are school counseling grad programs? Job prospects?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

denisehearts in New York, New York

19 months ago

I'm currently a college sophomore deciding majors. I'm thinking of getting my bachelors in psych and then applying to grad school to get my masters in education specializing in school counseling.

My school has a school counseling graduate program (Hunter College in NYC). I want to become a high school counselor.

Are secondary school counselor jobs secure in the economy? Are there good prospects?

How competitive are the school counseling grad programs? Are they tough to get into?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

HigherEd in Albany, New York

18 months ago

To answer your questions based my local experience.

Are secondary school counselor jobs secure in the economy? No, every district in NY State is currently laying off, including counselors. There are many reasons, but a big one is that the state has significanly reduced state funding to local districts. It is my impression the the state is trying to force mergers, consolidation and large regional/county schools similar to what you see in Florida. The point is that funding is going to stay low, budgets will continue to be tight and there will be more mergers, layoffs etc.

Are there good prospects? It depends on what you consider good. Compared to the prospects for VCR repairmen, I guess it would be good, but compared to jobs in the healthcare field I would say no.