California Hair Stylist Certification

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (39)

Joe B. in Aurora, Illinois

84 months ago

My wife and I are moving to San Diego in January. She is licensed in the state of Illinois, but has told me that she thinks she needs more hours of class-work in order to become certified in CA.

Can somebody explain to me the credentials needed to obtain a CA License?

Are there any suggestions for schools in San Diego area anyone would like to recommend?

Thanks for your help!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

Katie B. in San Diego, California

84 months ago

California's State Board requires 1600 hours to obtain a cosmetology license. I think that IL's requirement is 1200 hours(?). Upon moving to California, the additional hours must be made up, in order to become licensed. The CA State Board Exam must also be taken upon completion of the required 1600 hours. I'm an instructor at Paul Mitchell the School, in downtown San Diego. I graduated from PMTS, became an educator (while also working in the salon), and fully recommend it to anyone who is looking for an amazing, quality education. I would not have gone anywhere else! The program is great and I would fully suggest looking into attending. If you have any questions, feel free to email me KBiebel773@hotmail.com

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Stephanie Coderre in Brockton, Massachusetts

83 months ago

See, I'm from Massachusetts, but I am currently a student at Toni and Guy Hair Academy in Rhode Island where we have to finish 1500 hours. At the end of my phase I'm looking to head to the west coast. Therefore, how would I go about making up only 100 hours?

Thanks!<3

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Barbara LeMonnier in Tinley Park, Illinois

82 months ago