Quit Job to go to Cosmetology School?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 157)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Dot in Sacramento, California

69 months ago

Hi,

I'm 27 years old, and currently work a boring desk job. I make a decent salary, which holds me back from leaving. I have an MBA and BS in Finance, and run a part time event planning business.

Ever since I realized just how boring offices are, I've wanted to go to cosmetology school. I always thought it would fun to run a salon.

However, I'm also considering just getting a makeup artist certification, which I can use in conjunction with event planning.

So would it be stupid at this point in the game to quit my job and go to cosmetology school? I'm nervous about having an income, and adding further to student loans (at $50k now). Has anyone else done this?

I appreciate all feedback!! Thank you ahead of time!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (40) / No (14) Reply - Report abuse

RJ in Moody A F B, Georgia

69 months ago

I work at a desk right now and also going to Cosmetology school. I can tell you from the class is that i have been enjoying it every step of the way and can't wait to get into a salon. Its so much fun it doesn't even feel like work. I wouldn't work about income to much. I have spoke with several Cosmetologist and my teachers and from what they all say the pay is well worth it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (25) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Lerie in Fort Worth, Texas

69 months ago

I am doing the same thing. I am 27, currently a Event Planner, but I am planning on going to cosmo school next year. I also want to have a business that combines the cosmo and event planning.

I say go for it. I am a single mom, but I am going to do what makes me happy. I have a degree, but that's not what makes me happy. You should never sacrifice happiness. Not everyone experience doing what they love.