I'm not sure if I'm cut out for this.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

electro in Tacoma, Washington

54 months ago

I've been working at Safeway for three years now in the second to lowest position (Helper Clerk) because I need to pay rent and haven't been sure about what career to pursue. I had wanted to be an art museum/gallery curator, but figured it was an unrealistic and lofty job goal.

I just decided a few days ago that I want to be a hairstylist. But I'm worried that because it hasn't been a job I've dreamed about since I was young, that I won't be able to assimilate and everyone will chew me up and spit me out.
The earliest I thought about being a hairstylist/dyer was probably when I was 18 and went down to California to meet my step mother and see my father. My stepmom took me to this small hip salon where a boy named Israel (in tight jeans and bleached at the top and brown below, with a definite flair) dyed and cut my hair. When I was watching him do my foils, I thought, "That looks like fun. I think I want to be a hairstylist." After doing some research and living more (aka - being lazy at my mom's, avoiding looking for a job) I decided to let it go - it wasn't my passion and I surely wouldn't fit in with other hairstylists.