how do you get into it?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (30)

Bob in Glendale, Arizona

71 months ago

That Girl in Colorado Springs, Colorado said: i am 22 years old. im a female. and i want to work as an operator. my only set back is.... i have no experience!

im from a small town, and when i was 15 my dad sent me to McDonalds to make my own money. unfortunately I cant seem to find any place to hire me out side of the experience that i have. been a cook for the past 6 years... worked in different restaurants, and in cafeterias.

I WANT to be an Operator. what do i need to learn to be able to be one? i know what the different equipment is... i know what a skid loader is, an excavator, a dozer, and a trencher is. im a good hard worker who is reliable and on time.... what more do i have to do to get a chance...

or is it because im a girl?

thank you in advance for any help you offer!

That Girl,
Where theres a will theres a way. Your young so you can travel and thats a plus. If I was in your shoes I would move to Missoula, Montana and attend the VoTech and become a heavy equipment operator that way. You might wonder why I would want to send you to Missoula and the answer is Washington Construction which is based out of Missoula. Google Dennis Washington and I think you'll be encouraged. If you could get on with him you'd have it made in the shade. Remember young people can take chances whereas older folks look back on their lives and often times wish we had taken the chances. Good luck. Bob

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Karl the heavy equipment guy in Winchester, California

71 months ago