Career Change to HVAC without experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (43)

Daddy D in Dallas, Texas

82 months ago

I'm looking to change careers and enter HVAC industry. I'm currently in school to get certification but I would like to work in the field while attending school to gain field experience. How can I get a company to hire me into an entry level position without having any experience and without completing my certification yet?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (346) / No (48) Reply - Report abuse

duvall rafq in Charlotte, North Carolina

81 months ago

i graduated from the connecticut school of electronics i 2005.
i worked for one handyman service as a maintenance tech for 10 months.my employer died and i was unable to find another job here in charlotte , NC.
Would someone please tell me what i can do to get another job without being told that i dont have enough experience/

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (21) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Robert in Fresno, California

80 months ago

Daddy D in Dallas, Texas said: I'm looking to change careers and enter HVAC industry. I'm currently in school to get certification but I would like to work in the field while attending school to gain field experience. How can I get a company to hire me into an entry level position without having any experience and without completing my certification yet?[/QUOTE

Here was my experience:
Assigned service truck 3rd day with company.
Troubleshooting very easy on most service calls.
Maybe 20 things that go wrong with equipment, usually the same 3 or 4.
Good job if you work well by yourself. Not brainy work, YOU must be liked and fit in with company to get your foot in door.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (13) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Pat in Portland, Texas

79 months ago