PE in Industrial Engineering

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Chez in Memphis, Tennessee

61 months ago

I am an industrial engineer and would like to obtain my PE in industrial engineering. However, I don't see how it will benefit me other than that it can distinguish me from engineers that don't have a PE. I guess my question is "What can an industrial engineer do with a PE?". I only see civil, structural, mechanical and electrical engineers that have the need to stamp drawings that are produced for public service.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No Reply - Report abuse

Raj in Little Rock, Arkansas

61 months ago

Chez in Memphis, Tennessee said: I am an industrial engineer and would like to obtain my PE in industrial engineering. However, I don't see how it will benefit me other than that it can distinguish me from engineers that don't have a PE. I guess my question is "What can an industrial engineer do with a PE?". I only see civil, structural, mechanical and electrical engineers that have the need to stamp drawings that are produced for public service.

Chez,
I agree that a PE may not be of any additional help in getting jobs.
I know a friend here who has BSIE, MBA and is a PE.
He also feels the same way.
But it is ultimately one of personal interest.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Magnoliastar in Greenwood, Mississippi

58 months ago

PE in IE is a waste of time instead do six sigma black belt from ASQ

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jim in Albuquerque, New Mexico

52 months ago

Hi,

I have never seen a job that requires an Industrial PE. I once checked the roster of registered PEs in my state and only seven of them were IEs, and one of those was a former professor. It would be of little benefit, I believe, unless you go into academics.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Tom in Durham, North Carolina

35 months ago