Instructional Designer - Contractor hiring process

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Andy in Daly City, California

44 months ago

Hi all!

I am an Instructional Designer just starting out and luckily, have already gotten a call that I will be offered an ID contract position. I will definitely ask the for the offer in writing. Anticipating them to get back to me very soon, I was wondering if any of the more seasoned Instructional Designers can give me some tips on the whole contract position hiring process? Is there anything I should be asking before I formally accept the offer? ie: working on site/telecommuting (which was mentioned as an option during the interview). Also, there was no mention on how many hours I am expected to work a week - is this something determined later on by the needs of the project? Is it my responsibility to handle billing them for my hours? Basically I'd like to know anything that is different from a regular full-time job.

Thanks much!
-A

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Christy in Cary, North Carolina

44 months ago

Will you be a W-2 contractor or a 1099 contractor? That's the big question. If you're a W-2 contractor, you're basically an hourly employee of the contracting company, so you're working for a client indirectly. Usually you fill out a time card each week which is approved by the client.

If you're a 1099 contractor, that's true independent contracting. You're basically freelance, and you have a lot of other issues to work out. If it's 1099, I'd suggest hiring an accountant or someone to help you figure out billing and taxes, as it's quite a bit more complex than a regular job.