Starting out...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Host

How did you get your start doing instructional designer work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

CD RMA in Pleasanton, CA

94 months ago

You can start off by becoming a subject matter expert and then become a business unit trainer, or do editing work to get in the door. I started out the SME route, but as I have moved into new indursties with in the company I have started off doing editing work. I have also seen people who were meeting planners, faclitators, or production work (coping trainig materials - production assitant or training corrdiantor or training program manager) for a corporation and move from there.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

ID in Washington State in Bothell, Washington

87 months ago

I have a Master's Degree in Instructional Technologies (Training Design and Development), and most of the positions I've been hired for (I'm a consultant now, after a few years as an employee ID) I get rely on that academic training. To get your foot in the door directly to an ID job, you really do need work experience in the field, as well. To start, in grad school I had a year-long paid internship with a training and development consulting firm, and that made it quite easy to get picked up by my choice of employers.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

Colleen in San Diego, California

85 months ago

Host said: How did you get your start doing instructional designer work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

I started as a technical trainer. I was recognized for having the ability to instruct. My undergraduate degree is a BS in Education. I now have a Master's in Educational Technology from San Diego State University.