Career Change from Graphic Design to Interior Design

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

starburst697 in Lewisville, Texas

36 months ago

Hello all,

I am contemplating a career change from graphic design to interior design. Interior design has always been a passion of mine, I majored in graphic design because I had more experience with it. Looking back, I wish I had chosen differently! Does anyone have any recommendations on how to make the career jump? I've been working about 3 1/2 years now, and know that I will most likely have to start off in a assistant role, which is fine. I have my BS in Graphic Design, would I want to focus on getting a Masters in Interior Design? It seems kinda redundant to get another bachelors. Would I have to wait until I got the masters to pursue a job? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Ang K in Calgary, Alberta

13 months ago

Hi! I'm thinking of doing the same thing, except that I've been in graphic design for about 8 years now. Did you make the switch and how did it go?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

celina carlz in sydney, Australia

7 months ago

Thinking of doing is good, but be sure of what you do like changing it would be difficult interior designing is good as I feel it better than graphic designing. But graphic designing is better if you work on project basis I found people on this site www.slideshare.net/artworkabode earning more than what a person can dream of

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

artsyerinc in Raleigh, North Carolina

5 months ago