Online Interior Design/Decoration Courses - Worth it?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 53)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

uRabbit in Boise, Idaho

76 months ago

I am an aspiring Interior Designer/Decorator. Most job openings I see on Monster/Careerbuilder/Yahoo! Hot Jobs/Etc. are for Interior Architects, but the ones I do find for Design/Decorator usually require lots of education and experience.

The 'type' of Design/Decor I'm looking to do is Residential. I've also opened up to retail (such as department stores/furniture stores/etc.). Other than that, I'm not sure I could get into any of it. Especially considering my limitations... I can only do an online course. I must work full time to support my debts and my fiance and myself. Plus, I cannot afford the 'good' schools. Not on top of my current existing tuition payment of 220/mo, at least.

So I've been looking at online Design courses. Sheffield (www.sheffield.edu/htmlsrc/interior-design-course.html), being the first I'd found. And Lifestyle Learning Direct (www.lifestylelearningdirect.com/course/interior_design_decoration), being the second. I am torn between the two. I want the most bang for my buck. The most in-depth online course I can get for under $2000. I know, it's asking a lot... Also, I'd like to know if doing one of these online courses is going to get my the certificate needed to be able to practice as an Interior Designer/Decorator and maybe even in the future as a Consultant.

I make about $1300/mo right now, and that's barely getting us by (in addition to fiance's income). Where I live, that income is a little above average for my age, but I also have a lot more bills than most people my age. Mistakes have been made. I don't want to make any more. :(

Any help/insight is MUCH appreciated. Thank you all!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (125) / No (19) Reply - Report abuse

Interiorgirl in Amesbury, Massachusetts

69 months ago