fees

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 61)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Kristin in Portland, Oregon

77 months ago

senior designer in small town in Newnan, Georgia said: I have been a designer since 1994. I work for a small town firm that does residential and commercial design. We also have a retail showroom. Our design fee is based on an hourly rate. We order our products-fabric, furniture,etc.- directly from the sources that we have set up wholesale accounts with through our retail business. Our standard operations include charging a design fee for planning and then charging about 30% off retail for product since we get the product at "wholesale"; therefore, we make money on the fee end and then, stop the clock for purchasing and make money from mark up on the materials end (while not charging for time to do the purchasing, etc.). The problem is, now that costs have become so transparent due to the internet and with all of the discount fabric stores, etc., our "wholesale" prices are close to retail prices at these discount establishments. We can't compete with this! And we are losing business! We would love to have all high end clients and not have to worry about this but it is just not the case. We work with many budgets and must stay competitive.
My question is, how are people charging these days? I am thinking about dissolving our retail business completely because it is tanking. If I do, what type of mark can I put on merchandise that I purchase at "to the trade" or other establishments and still attract customers.
Thanks for any input you can offer!

I offer specific services to clients, an overall design package fee to the client for design service to plan space, design, specify or shop and make catalog recommendations. I have another package for archtectual drawings.