Getting an it project manager job.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Host

How did you get your start doing it project manager work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

Deven Verma in Oakland, California

91 months ago

I started working as an IT Project Manager because of my role as a lead developer, and then taking on the role of the Portfolio Project Manager for one of the 3 auto companies. That role proplled me in the Program/ Project Management arena, and since then, have been working primarily as an IT Project Manager for different companies.

I have attended many online courses/ seminars that deal with Program/ Project management, and then went for my PMI certification.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

Alexandra in Astoria, New York

80 months ago

I worked as a system administrator/technical lead for fifteen years and have a Masters in Telecomm. and Info Mgmt. and many techical system engineer certs. I took a half-semester course in Project Mgmt. As successful IT PM you need to be part geek, part social butterfly, and in NYC be able to understand all the world's people and translate that into solid, actionable plans, and when the project gets going make sure all the separate silos communicate with each other, a.k.a. part diplomat but someone who actually delivers a stable product that meets requirements.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Ed in Lombard, Illinois

68 months ago

Susan in Atlanta, Georgia said: Interesting case...I only have a bachelor's in English/Education and have worked four years as an English teacher. I hate my job, am sick of liberal arts, and want to break into the IT/business world. Should I pursue an MBA with an IS emphasis? Get a masters in MIS? Just get a PM certificate?