Breaking (back) into Java development

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

BBMW in New York, New York

16 months ago

I was a developer who got shunted into infrastructure / administration by my employer. I have done Java development, among other languages, but not that recently (a few years back.) That employer recently laid me off.

I'm looking to break back into Java developmet. But, obviously, I'm a little cold, given the layoff. This puts me in a catch 22. I'm not current enough to sell myself as an senior developer currently. But if you can't, the employers don't want you. I feel I can get up to speed quickly, and will bone up beforehand. I'll spend my own money on training, if that would help I'm also willing to go significantly backwards salarywise got get back in.

Short of out and out lying (which people have told me to do BTW), how do I get back in the door? How does anyone get a new job in a new (or in my case slightly old) technology?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Stormie in Tampa, Florida

13 months ago

BBMW in New York, New York said: I was a developer who got shunted into infrastructure / administration by my employer. I have done Java development , among other languages, but not that recently (a few years back.) That employer recently laid me off.

I'm looking to break back into Java developmet. But, obviously, I'm a little cold, given the layoff. This puts me in a catch 22. I'm not current enough to sell myself as an senior developer currently. But if you can't, the employers don't want you. I feel I can get up to speed quickly, and will bone up beforehand. I'll spend my own money on training, if that would help I'm also willing to go significantly backwards salarywise got get back in.

Short of out and out lying (which people have told me to do BTW), how do I get back in the door? How does anyone get a new job in a new (or in my case slightly old) technology?