Getting ahead...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Host

What is the best training for becoming a hirable java developer? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective java developer?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

Reply - Report abuse

Joaniethebronxgirl@yahoo.com in Los Angeles, California

88 months ago

What exactly does a java developer do? I am interested.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Chris in Tucson, Arizona

85 months ago

Java Developer is a broad title for anyone developing software using the Java programming language. What you do day-to-day depends a lot on the company you work for, there are good companies and bad companies. I am a Sr Software Engineer (basically a Sr Java Developer) and my week includes writing/testing/debugging java code, managing build/deployment scripts, managing development servers, writing code and usage documentation, team meetings, code reviews, internal education presentations, after-work LAN games, social lunches with other team members, and the occasional happy hour.

It's a job that you have to love to do well. The hours can be long, but if you are in a good company you can get compensation or flex time to offset (e.g. you work a 60-70 hour week and then take a take a long weekend or two later without subtracting from your vacation time)... yes, in both good and bad companies, you will work long hours. I generally work a 50-hour week during the light weeks... and up to 80 during crunch times, which thankfully dont happen all that often here.