Background Checks....

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

legallyblondetxn in Dallas, Texas

89 months ago

Okay...so I have been a Paralegal in the State of Texas (Dallas) for over ten (10) years now, my boss lost his temper with me and fired me in December and I have been looking ever since. I have been on several really good interviews, that I was just sure would lead to an offer. No such luck. The only thing that I can sermise is that they have done a background check and determined that my credit is less than it should be. I went through a divorce in 1999, and it is now 2008. I would think that after more than 7 years...my credit score would be better. And anyway...employers know things happen that are out of our control...right? And, what diff does it make...I am very good at my job.

I have not been in the job-seekers market in years, but how can they hold my credit against me and not see that my experience and education more than outweight my dings on credit. I have never ever been arrested/conviction of any felony, I have only ever gotten minor traffic tickets. My second thought was that my ex-boss is "bad-mouthing" me. I was working 50-60 hour weeks (with no overtime pay) and I addressed it with him, and that is when he got defensive, lost his temper and that is when he fired me.

Honestly, how can my credit get any better without a job? I mean really! AND...is my old boss telling lies about me?

If you have any suggestions for me PLEASE let me know. I am open for any suggestions, and getting a little anxious...

Thank You!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

deansuraci in Cornwall On Hudson, New York

89 months ago

Hi,