Legal Secretary Positions for newcomers

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (43)

Mich in North Bergen, New Jersey

65 months ago

Hello everyone

I was thinking of getting my legal secretary certificate but need some advice. I am an EDGAR operator and have about 9 years experience in converting financial documents from word to become SEC compliant, so I was thinking a legal secretary certificate would benefit me in this economy but I have been looking at recent job postings for legal secretaries and a lot of them require experience. Is it hard to find a job without any legal secretary experience? Any suggestions??

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

tessie425 in Staten Island, New York

65 months ago

My advice would be to stay out of the legal secretary field. I have been doing it for too long, and it's an unrewarding career, in my opinion.

And yes, it's hard to find a good job with decent pay without the experience. You would need to find an entry level position, which probably would be on the lower end of the pay scale.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (18) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Maggie in Hialeah, Florida

65 months ago

Mich in North Bergen, New Jersey said: Hello everyone

I was thinking of getting my legal secretary certificate but need some advice. I am an EDGAR operator and have about 9 years experience in converting financial documents from word to become SEC compliant, so I was thinking a legal secretary certificate would benefit me in this economy but I have been looking at recent job postings for legal secretaries and a lot of them require experience. Is it hard to find a job without any legal secretary experience? Any suggestions??