Entry Level Jobs?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Searching Librarian in Arlington, Texas

84 months ago

Greetings,

I am a school librarian who really wants to branch out into the public/academic sector (I love research and cataloguing and know that I would find my calling in either of those two specialties). I have two years of experience, but was completely unsuccessful in even obtaining an interview with the five public libraries and two colleges to which I applied. I have my MLS, of course, but do not have any experience beyond being a public school librarian.

Although it will mean a severe cut in funds, I am considering resigning from my current job and accepting a part-time position to pay some of the bills while volunteering at several local libraries. Does this sound like a good career move (i.e. will it "pay off" in terms of networking and "getting my foot in the door")? Should I, instead, simply keep submitting my applications in hopes of someone giving me a chance? Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide!

Searching...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Susie in Sayreville, New Jersey

83 months ago

DON'T quit your day job!!!

Demand is not that high. If you have benefits, stay where you are. If a good part-time job opens up, consider it, but these days it may not lead to full time - municipalities are under the gun to reduce full time positions nationwide. I know someone with excellent skills who moved to a preferred location and took 5 years to find a full-time job.