Librarian work in the USA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Nisa in London, United Kingdom

82 months ago

Hello I am training to become a (doing an MA) librarian in England and I would like to work in the US after I have finished. Could anyone tell me what the job situation for younger librarians, is like in the US. I would be particularly interested in working in Florida or California.

Thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

hedi in Pécs, Hungary

57 months ago

hi Nisa,

you written your note for 2 yrs but i would like to ask from u.
I have a diploma in library (i did it in hungary). Unfortunatelly i hv not got a job since ages however i want to work for a library, i am very intrested in kids and school libraries.
so do you know how can i get a job in the uk? is it possible? what kind of recquirements are?

many thx for helping in advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Nisa in London, United Kingdom

56 months ago

hedi in Pécs, Hungary said: hi Nisa,

you written your note for 2 yrs but i would like to ask from u.
I have a diploma in library (i did it in hungary). Unfortunatelly i hv not got a job since ages however i want to work for a library, i am very intrested in kids and school libraries.
so do you know how can i get a job in the uk? is it possible? what kind of recquirements are?

many thx for helping in advance.

Hello Hedi,

I think it might be easy for you to get a job in the UK, but with the country still in recession, I am not quite sure. You can check out the cilip website, which deals with library issues and employment in the UK.

Here is the website address of interest

www.cilip.org.uk/

Hope this helps.

Kind Regards

Nisa

Kristin in Culpeper, Virginia

54 months ago

Hi Nisa,

The two states you mentioned (Florida and California) tend to have a lot of librarian job postings.

Here are some good sites to check for postings: