Transitioning from Programmer to Librarian

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Anonymous in Long Beach, California

55 months ago

I am currently a junior software engineer in my mid 20s. I have a four year degree from a very reputable university, but my focus of study was not in information system or computer science. I managed to teach myself programming and have been working in the web development/programming field for the last 2.5 years. I enjoy writing code, but lately I've begun to re-evaluate whether not I want a career in the field. I don't mind putting in extra time or effort to get a job done, but the average work week in the IT field is well above the normal 40 hours, and leaves very little room for a social/family life. Plus, I am a female and IT is a heavily male dominated field. I've noticed that as you climb the career ladder, your input and expertise seems to be valued less, as the whole filed becomes an Old Boys' club.

I would like to become a librarian. After a bit of research I was thrilled to find that modern librarianship relies heavily on database administration and programming skills. I have also researched some MLS and LIS programs in my area. My main question is what is the job market like? While I'm sure I would love the coursework, I would hate to invest so much time and money to obtaining a degree, only to find that I am unemployable. Can someone who has experience in the field give me some candid explanations on what to expect and what not to expect from this career?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Former Librarian in Hudson, Ohio

50 months ago

You are crazy. Librarian are being laid off left and right, and branches are closing. For every library job, there are usually at least 800 applicants -- no joke. You will never find a job in this field in today's world, no matter what school you attend, it will not matter. Give it up.