I need the help of some Massage Therapists!!!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Angel T. in Hayward, California

24 months ago

I am currently trying to get into a program to get money to attend school to become a Massage Therapist. I need anyone who is currently working in this field to just answer a couple of questions for me. This is a requirement for me to get this grant.

1. How did you get into this field?
2. Do you love what you do? Why?
3. Is this a good field to get in to?

I am begging...PLEASE help me out!!! Thanks in advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

TB in Fountain Valley, California

23 months ago

Hey Angel! I was a Massage Therapist for 4 1/2 years. I got burnt-out doing massage and moved on to another career. To answer your questions about how I got into this field I just researched surrounding schools and went in to take a tour of their school. I qualified for student loans so the process of enrolling was easy. I used to love this field but not so much anymore. I love helping people alot but you have to deal with alot of crap. This is seriously not a good field to get into. Its OK if you only are planning on doing it part-time as a supplemental income. Most of my classmates that I have graduated with back in 2006 are no loner in the field as well. According to the AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association) the average career span only last seven years. In school they will try and tell you using propler body machanics will avoid burnout/injury. Kinda true kinda not true, its just overuse and depends on this individual person. Most massage schools don't tell you any of the negative about this industry and NEVER believe them when they tell you can make $50 a hour!! Its not that its not true its just a little decieving. Also the new massage franchise are lowering the wages for MTs. Yes, you don't have to work for them but if you go online to see who is hiring, you wil