should I quit this job?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

kej in Salt Lake City, Utah

66 months ago

I need a little help. I have been a therapist for 10 years. I like it, usually. I recently took a job at a new high end spa. The good is that I like my co-workers and guests. I get paid about $85 per hour including tips. I get full benefits but I work a full shift 5 days a week. Not bad, right?? I am miserable. The spa is super strict. I have zero freedom and zero room for error. I avoid my boss as we don't get along well. My commute is long, I leave my house 1 hour and 45 minutes before the start of my shift. I have been unable to get a day off when I ask but I am expected to routinely come in early, stay late and give up the days off I do get. Other therapists get more guests than I do but I am not allowed to question the schedule at all for fear of "getting written up". I am actually stressed out at a massage job. I feel like I have sold my soul for $85 an hour and benefits. I know I should be happy just have a job these days. Am I nuts for wanting to quit this job?? I would love your input on this problem.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

PBR in Portland, Oregon

66 months ago

You're not nuts. You're conflicted because you recognize both the positives and the negatives in your situation. Sucks, don't it?