British student one year Mechanical engineering placement in America. Which states/cities?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

ali097 in Coventry, United Kingdom

36 months ago

I'm a British student and I've just started the second year of my four year undergraduate course, mechanical engineering. Next year, I'd like to do a placement in America for the experience of living and working in America, the only problem is I'm not really sure which states and/or cities would be the best to work in.

My course is accredited by a professional body, IMechE, and with this course I can become a chartered engineer, if I meet other conditions—I mentioned this so you’ll know it’s considered ‘worthy’. As ME is rather diverse, I’m still not sure what field I’d like to work in. Up until a couple of months ago, I was considering aeronautical-related so that after years of experience I can work as an air accident investigator. But now I’m thinking design-related because I enjoy it. I’d like it if I could work in either of these two field, but at the moment I don’t feel I should consider it to be important.

When I say 'best to work in', I generally mean a decent living, friendly people and reputable companies. Though it isn’t important, I'd also like it if it had a nice night-life, and a decent wage—I'm not quite sure what it's like living in America and I’m sure it varies from state-to-state but I feel it could be quite expensive. If you feel there are other attributes that should be considered, please do mention them. I’m not considering of working abroad after I graduate, I’d rather live and work in the U.K. so the possibility of being employed by the firm after graduation isn’t important.

There are a few questions I’d like to ask, although a few may sound stupid:
Which states and cities would be best to find work in?
Do American companies still use imperial system or do they use the metric?