Mechanical Engineering

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Thomas in Medford, Massachusetts

33 months ago

Hello my name is Thomas and live in Massachusetts. I was thinking about becoming a Mechanical Engineer or an Electrical Engineer. I am very mechanical inclined and I enjoy gears and science very much, I work as a engine tranny tech at a mechanic shop. I work 55+ hours and make enough to pay bills. My question is to anyone who has a degree in either of the two. 1) As far as money is there enough for bills and fun? 2) I am willing to relocate but how is the job market? I hope to graduate with a high GPA. 3) What should I learn before I go to college or should know very well for a good engineer job? Constitutional criticism is welcome, thank you very much.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

awesome in Holbrook, Arizona

33 months ago

you should do it!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Alex JIg in Brentwood, New York

33 months ago

Don't do it your overworkd and under payed go to the medical field instead. If you can do engineering the medical field should not be a problem. It's all about planning and focusing.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

33 months ago

Well I am still thinking about what field to go into so I will take that into consideration. As for being overworked, I would not mind if its something I love. I already feel overworked and underpaid. That being said I would love to hear more from experienced engineers about the field. Anything will help. Thank you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Recent Grad in Fremont, California

33 months ago

Hey Thomas! I am a recent Mechanical graduate from California, and I'd be happy to answer some of your questions.