Medical coding a good career?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

Pam in Middletown, Connecticut

42 months ago

I'm in a really crappy retail job and I hate it, I feel like I am being babysat all of the time and I would like to be able to work more independently. I am thinking of going into medical coding and I was wondering if it is a good career choice. what are your days like? is it a really boring job? do you make a decent salary? Is the schooling really difficult?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (26) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

valentine2 in salt lake city, Utah

42 months ago

Hi

I have been coding for about 6 years and I love my job. I can't imagine doing anything else. I am not really a people person and really don't like the general public. So coding is a great fit for my personality.

Since I am a coder (rather than a biller or biller/coder) I pretty much just code all day long. I run my work report each morning and read patient notes, and abstract the correct diagnosis and procedure codes. I work for a large health care system, so I do outpatient/physician visits, outpatient surgeries and the professional fees for inpatient patients.

You sit, read and code. All day. So yes, it does get boring sometimes, but I listen to music or audiobooks to help the slow times.

Decent salary is very subjective, but yes, I make good money, especially considering I am just a high school grad (I do not have a degree)plus the great thing about this field is that there is so much room for advancement, after gaining experience and certifications, you can make more.

School is not difficult, just like anything that is new, it takes a little while to get a hang of rules, guidelines and looking up codes, but with practice, it is quite easy.

I will tell you though,this field is kinda over saturated with new grads with no experience, and most employers are looking to hire coders with at least 2 years experience.