Possible career change to RHIA-need advice!!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 209)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Jill in MI in Wyandotte, Michigan

72 months ago

Currently I work as an office manager in my family's business. I am looking to possibly change careers and I have been accepted to a AIHMA accredited RHIA bachelor's online degree program. I have also been accepted into a RHIT program at a local college on campus. I am leaning towards the RHIA since it is only a few classes more.
As I have done more research, I am getting a bit of cold feet reading on people having difficulty gaining entry level positions. I would hate to spend all this time and money to not be able to gain employment...I have no experience in the medical field-should I possibly look into a AIMHA approved coding program first, then go for my RHIA?
Salary is a consideration for me...I have worked 2 jobs for 10 years to make ends meet which is one of the reasons for the career change. Can I realistically make around $40K with my RHIA?
What would you do? Get the associates or coding cert first or just go for your RHIA with no experience-HELP!! I need some insight...
Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (50) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Annie21 in Millington, Michigan

71 months ago