Recommendations for self-study in coding?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (20)

donna0924 in Lansdale, Pennsylvania

42 months ago

Sue in Des Moines, Iowa said: I am a former physician assistant (12 years ago) looking to re-enter the work world in medical coding. I would very much appreciate advice from those of you who have done self-study on your way to certification. From reading previous posts, I know some of you are out there, but I have no way to contact you directly.

CPC and CCS seem to be the most commonly requested certifications in my local job listings, and my study goal is to prepare for a certification exam. I just completed a 6-week online class with my community college that covered the basics of ICD-9 and CPT coding I am just about finished reading the textbook "Understanding Health Insurance: A Guide to Billing and Reimbursement" by Green and Rowell.

Can anyone recommend self-study resources to further prepare myself for a certification exam?

Thanks much!

Good Luck! Are you unemployed? Check with careelink. They maybe able to help you free of charge.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (31) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Sue in Des Moines, Iowa

42 months ago

donna0924 in Lansdale, Pennsylvania said: Good Luck! Are you unemployed? Check with careelink. They maybe able to help you free of charge.

Hi Donna0924. Thanks for the good wishes! I am unemployed by choice. I've been home full-time with kids, and homeschooling the last two years. I will be ready to return to work this fall.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse

Sue in Des Moines, Iowa

42 months ago

Kristy, thanks so much for the resource suggestions! I've read a lot of positive comments about the Carol Buck books. Since I've already had a course in basic coding, I was giving some consideration to Carol Buck's "The Next Step: Advanced Medical Coding." Do you have any knowledge of that resource?