Recommendations for self-study in coding?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (32)

Sue in Des Moines, Iowa

47 months ago

Thanks for checking, Kristy.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

newatcoding09 in Deerfield Beach, Florida

21 months ago

hi folks,
I too am interested in self study because I don't want to waste money on schools/courses that may be too drawn out and unnecessary. I feel I can learn the material easily. My background is that I studied physical therapy for 2 1/2 years about 10 years ago and completed 3 internships. I earned a B.S. in health sciences as part of a 2 + 1 program. I have a good memory. Is medical coding something that can be learned at a quicker pace? What are the main books needed? I recently purchased a small Billing and Coding pocket Guide, "Provider's Coding Notes" by Alice Anne Andress. Thanks for any feedback. I want to be able to pass the CCA and then earn the CCS after I gain employment in the medical coding world. I also hope to obtain the RHIT or RHIA.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Madeline A Meyer PhD in Winter Park, Florida

21 months ago

Yes, we have a cost-effective, proven program for CPC and CCS certifications. We've trained hundreds successfully.

See: medicalcodingprep.com/

Dr. Meyer

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Topaz07 in Poughkeepsie, New York

19 months ago

CodingCertification.Org is an online Medical Coding education website where you can study at your own pace, but also you will have a certified coding instructor (coach) that you can talk to if you get stuck or have a question. Very valuable! Excellent curriculum, videos, practice exams, free webinars. Check out the courses offered here: bit.ly/1axmoG5

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

newatcoding09 in Pompano Beach, Florida

19 months ago