Trying to figure out best type of medical sales that is best for me

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Gary in Rockford, Illinois

29 months ago

Hi all. I am working on getting into medical sales. I have 10+ years experience selling technical building products. As the economy took a plunge years ago, I took it as an opportunity to go back to school to become a paramedic. My clinical experience also includes working in an ER, on an ambulance, and on the helicopter. As a paramedic, we learn a little of everything. I am really fascinated with the heart and lungs. I know the systems and how to treat them on an emergency basis. I understand treating is not what I'll be doing but I believe my clinical experiences will allow me to connect with the docs/ medical staff. I am currently licensed and work part time as a firefighter/ medic. I'd love to work full time, but I'm 36 years old which is too old to test in Illinois for full time positions on a fire department. Private paramedic companies just don't pay. I love the medical field and I'm good at it. I will continue to do it more or less as a hobby, learning experience, to serve the community/ network, and to keep up my license. I will sell full time as I like sales and am good at it. The question I'm struggling with is... what should I sell? I want to sell a product that correlates to what I do as a paramedic. It just makes sense. My confidence level in this area is high. Selling "glass eyes" really doesn't fit in all that well with paramedic work. I am a sharp guy capable of learning a technical product, but at this point I dont have a college degree. I will require a base salary of $55k+ (Is this out of line?). I dont mind traveling up to two days a week though I'd rather not travel. If anybody has any ideas for me on a good product where I might be a good fit, I would greatly appreciate your input. I dont want to end up selling a product with no competitive edge, career p