Accepted into MSc CLS program from Research Background ... what are the positives?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Bio/CLS in Mount Sinai, New York

22 months ago

I current work as an associate biologist in the field of Radiobiology. My work is primarily working with human tissues. I am an author on several publications for the cytogentic/microscopy work that I do in our lab. U have been wanting to get into the clinical lab field and recently got accepted to a MSc CLS program (paid for by my current company - very lucky). I was extremely excited about the prospects of my future ... then I got on this site. Am I really going to have a hard time finding employment after I graduate? I was not under that impression. Also, as far as experience goes, my research is clinical based (cancer research) will this count for experience? Also, what are the pluses of working in the field as a CLS? Thanks for any advice.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Andy_UTMB in Galveston, Texas

22 months ago

First, it is highly unlikely you will have trouble finding employment. There are many more people retiring from the CLS workforce than are graduating from programs. Is your company going to employ you after you graduate? Just curious why they would pay for your education if you're just going to work for someone else :P