Graduated 2 years ago, passed MLS 4 months ago, being turned down for jobs

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

MLSinNY in Niagara Falls, New York

10 months ago

This is hopeless feeling. I failed my ASCP certification exam once, and then finally passed it in February, 4 months ago, and I thought I would be free and the jobs would be limited by my choices. Four months into the job search, tens of tens of job applications sent out, tens of interviews, and no job offers. I applied for many jobs at the VA and most of the interviews I have received have been phone interviews through the VA. I have not been offered a job yet though. I have had three in person interviews and haven't gotten them. I realize it must be me.

My recruiter said that it's probably my not having any laboratory experience since June 2011 when I graduated.

I have no money right now to accept a job in another state and relocate. Has anybody been in this situation before? I feel really discouraged. Almost as discouraged as when I felt like I would never pass the ASCP certification. I just want my first med tech job. It feels like it's there but so unattainable and out of reach.

I plan on volunteering at the local VA hospital and saving money to get the NY license. And also getting a job at any facility doing anything involving the lab to get some experience, phlebotomy, lab assistant. What would be the best approach to get my first MLS job?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Mike in Melbourne Beach, Florida

10 months ago