MLT vs. MT

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (33)

Samantha in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

43 months ago

I've read several posts on here about the "differences" between MT's and MLT's. I just wanted to add my opinion, and maybe some insight to those to aren't sure which path to take. I graduated from a state university with my Bachelor's in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. I am now attending an Associate's MLT program at a community college in Pittsburgh, accreditted by NAACLS. I am fully aware that I must work as an MLT for 2 years in order to sit for an MT exam. However, I feel that I have received a comparable education to those who received a BS in Medical Technology. The University where I received my undergrad is affiliated with several MT programs (I opted out of this because of relocation). Anyway... the program required you to complete 3 years (6 semesters) at the university, then 1 year of clinical rotation at the MT program (usually a hospital program). Let me point out that my courses for my degree were EXACTLY the same as those planning on transferring to the MT program. After I complete my MLT courses and externship, I will have the same knowledge as an MT graduate. The only measurable difference is that I have to sit for a different exam due to certain parameters. Just because I would only be considered an "MLT" due to a "life science bachelor degree" and an "associate degree in medical laboratory technology" does not make me any less capable. Must I stress, my undergraduate classes were the EXACT same as an MT student who attended the same university. I even had more indepth classes such as Molecular biology and Biotechnology that were VERY lab intensive and included reading/writing lab protocols, troubleshooting, making reagents, making liquid and agar media, and writing in-depth lab reports.