Medical Laboratory Science Degree... with a Management Minor?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

ralythompson in Allendale, Michigan

11 months ago

I am currently a freshman in college, and I am planning on applying to the Medical Laboratory Science BS program in a year. I am going to need to add a minor or take some extra classes in order to fulfill the credit requirement to graduate with the B.S. What I am wondering is if adding a minor in Management would be a wise idea, and if it would benefit me as a future Med. Technologist. I have also played around with the ideas of adding a minor in Biology or Business. To any experienced Medical Technologists out there... let me know what you think about adding a Management minor, or some other minor to my Medical Lab Science Degree. Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Johnson1 in NYC, New York

11 months ago

If you're going to major in MLS, you'll have more than enough credits for a BS. Most programs require 80-90 credits to apply and are 30-45 credits for the clinical portion. Depending on the program, people finish with 130-150 credits, so a minor isn't necessary.

A biology minor would be absolutely useless for MLS and most schools don't allow it for MLS. You already take all the classes required for a bio minor (you should be required to take through anatomy and physiology, cell bio, and genetics).

A business/management minor doesn't do much, but it could raise your GPA. You're a freshman, so you should check with your advisor what classes you need for Med Tech.

CLSStudent2012 in California

11 months ago