Question to Experienced Med Techs

Comments (13)

Oldie but newbie in Satellite Beach, Florida

24 months ago

Hello folks. I'm an oldie, 56 years old, but newbie to the discussion forum. I am attending CC majoring in Med Tech program. I'm young, athletic, energetic, smart, team player, refuse to grow up, have 3.72 GPA, and anticipate to graduate with A.S. in the summer of 2015 ( don't laugh ). Thus, having presented my credentials, my question to well seasoned Techs out there is, what are the possibilities for an old F@#t like me landing a job at such a 'young age'? Any input greatly appreciative.

Randall in Omaha, Nebraska

24 months ago

If you are still above ground and are qualified, you can get a job as a Med Tech. I was 42 when I graduated Med Tech school and was working a lab job 3 weeks before I even graduated the program. I had more problems working with a bunch of women than getting a job. My gender, I'm male, was more of a problem then my age. I don't know what the job market is like in Florida, but it is hard to get a Med Tech job where i'm from. We have a really good Medical Technology program at UNMC and a MLT program in Linocln, so employers have alot to draw from. Fact is, they will take the young ones first because they are cheaper to hire and potentially have less health problems and time off. However, my way of thinking.. you are never too old to do anything. Unfortunatly, we have to rely on other people to allow us to do what we want to do.

Andy_UTMB in Galveston, Texas

24 months ago

Also know that there are federal regulations that prevent discrimination based on age. If a younger person is hired instead of you, the employer can possibly face legal action. I'm not certain about the details, but you should peruse these websites.

www.eeoc.gov/laws/statutes/adea.cfm
www.dol.gov/dol/topic/discrimination/agedisc.htm

Jay (aka oldie but newbie) in Satellite Beach, Florida

24 months ago