I have a Bachelor degree in Biology and I'm interested in this field, but I have some questions

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 156)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Jo in Staten Island, New York

79 months ago

You don't need to be a Medical Technologist major. Since you already have a bachelors, all you need to do is do a residency at a NAACLS accredited program. To be eligible for a NAACLS program, visit their site and it should be outlined pretty clearly. I believe its 16 credits of Bio, 16 credits of Chem (Orgo included), and some other courses.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (55) / No (18) Reply - Report abuse

Beth in Seattle, Washington

79 months ago

I was in the same position a few years ago. I got my certification as an MLT, took about 1.5 years of school. You have to work 2 years as an MLT then you can apply for the MT cert. There are some programs that offer the 1 year clinical training to go directly to an MT. Try www.ascp.org and www.nca-info.org

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

enh in Rolling Meadows, Illinois

78 months ago

there is a program at evanston hospital for med techs. its not too far from you. Try enh.org.
or call the lab at evanston. I'm sure they would be thrilled to have another student. ENH is a 3 hospital org. Evanston, Highland Park and Glenbrook Hospitals. That's three potential employers when you finish.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Nancy in Muskegon, Michigan

75 months ago

I have a bachelors degree in Biology and an associates degree in Medical Laboratory Technician, but the problem is that I haven't been working in the field for 20 years! I want to know how I can get recertified with ASCP and what classes are available, hopefully online, to help me pass the state test! Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse