Finding Entry Level Medical Transcription Jobs

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 4288)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

sarah p in chappell, Nebraska

87 months ago

Hi Cassandra-I'm a recent Medical Transcription Graduate and am having no luck in obtaining a job, also. I've been on the search for about 3 months now, and have only had a few replies to all of the many applications I've filled out. I'm getting very impatient and discouraged. It seems everyone wants someone with 2 or more years experience to do the job, well if we don't have experience are we ever going to get a job?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (456) / No (66) Reply - Report abuse

Linda Valencis in Southington, Connecticut

86 months ago

I currently work from home for Spheris as a medical transcriptionist. The first 2-3 years were wonderful. Commute was from bedroom to desk. No special wardrobe, no makeup, hair appts needed. All the equipment, PC, etc. was provided by employer. I just needed == and I would highly recommend -- cable connection for PC use. Get paid by the numbers of line transcribed, which is usually around 10 cents a line, and that is "good." I get paid every other week, direct deposit. We accrue PTO (paid time off)which can be used for holidays, sick time, vacations, appointments, mental-health time off, anything. And it does add up pretty fast. The only two paid vacations each year are Thanksgiving and Christmas. We get more $$ by taking on harder (MORE ESL dictator accounts)accounts or working night shifts.

Right now, I am very disillusioned with the work. There is a flood of ESL (English-second language) doctors and it is severely affecting my production, i.e., my pay check.