how to get a home position

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (201 to 250 of 250)
Page:  « First « Previous   2  3  4  5   

Dorothy in Denison, Texas

36 months ago

You are absolutely right. I graduated from a 1-year medical transcription course back in 1995. I did work for a couple of hospitals as a transcription manager over the years and earned a decent wage (55,000), but those jobs have really fallen off. I'm completely disgusted with the at-home situations. As I've been a transcriptionist for 16 years, I KNOW the terminology and can decipher the accents, but I cannot make a living working at home. You can work like a crazy person for 8 hours without a break and still only make $100 a day. Then the company will take out $800 a month for insurance. I paid a fortune to learn to be an excellent medical transcriptionist, but it sure appears to have no value. I see no options for myself but to go back to school and use the knowledge I've gained over the years to test out of classes to become a RN. If I had a chance to speak to someone contemplating a career as a MT, I sure would try to persuade them otherwise. It IS a dead-end job with little, if any, chance for growth. It may seem like a great way to work at home, but is only a little better than working for minimum wage - and that's if you are a fast typist with little need to research. I laugh when I hear women who think that they will be able to stay home with the kids and do this. In order to make even $10 an hour, you will need to transcribe as fast as you can without interruption. You are also right on about the pay for at-home transcription. I have worked for a few of the bigger companies. They pay, on average 7 cents for a 65-character line for transcription and 4 cents for editing. The editing is a joke. For most doctors voice recognition translates badly and it's so much easier to just scrap the whole report and just straight type it. VR makes me so angry. It's to