Non Prime Underwriters YOU caused all the problems....

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Oceans11 in Aliso Viejo, California

68 months ago

I wanted a catchy title so I could get enough people to respond but of course I don't believe this however if you look at all the recent Underwriter opportunities you can see the tone truly shifting towards this attitude now. Luckily I have several years of prime experience but for those who ONLY underwrote for lenders such as New Century, Encore or Ameriquest & the like it appears your possibilities of obtaining a mortgage underwriting gig just became tougher with ads like "Prime A paper underwriters ONLY" or "Non Sub Prime experience ONLY"

I just saw an ad that was pathetic stating, "Our client is a conservative who doesn't want underwriters from a "chop shop" environment". So for those who came from places like Ditech or Greenlight it just became even tougher for you as well.

Correct me if I'm wrong but underwriters didn't make up the guidelines, they just enforced them as part of their overall job responsibilities. Also, loans are defaulting & collapsing just as fast & as badly in the "A" paper world as they were in the sub prime world.

And being an underwriter who worked in both prime & non prime it's MUUUUCH easier to "pull back" then it is to "loosen up " and that's a fact.

I laugh because first it was, "Blame the brokers for the meltdown" & now it's "Blame the non prime underwriters". The mortgage industry needs to wake up.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

Meezer in Indianapolis, Indiana

67 months ago